Lieutenant-Governor must have received the assent of both Houses. Only the Legislative Assembly can bring forward a Bill requiring the expenditure of public money. The maximum life of a Legislature is five years.

Salaries and allowances of the Premier, Members of the Executive Council, Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly are fixed according to R.S.Q. 1941, c. 7 and R.S.Q. 1941, c. 4 as amended by 1-2 Eliz. II, c. 38 and 5-6 Eliz. II, c. 51. All Members of Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council receive \$5,000 per annum as salary and \$2,000 by way of allowances; in addition, the Premier receives \$10,000 as salary, \$4,000 allowances and \$2,000 for lodging allowance; Ministers with portfolio an additional \$8,000 as salary and \$2,000 allowances; Ministers without portfolio an additional \$5,000 salary and \$2,000 allowances; the Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly \$6,000 as salary, \$2,000 allowances and \$2,000 for lodging allowance; and the Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council and the Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council each receive \$7,000 as salary, \$2,000 allowances and \$3,000 for office allowances.

18.—Legislatures and Premiers of Quebec 1935-57 and the Ministry and Members of the Legislative Council as at Mar. 31, 1957

Legislatures 1935-571

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Nov. 25, 1935 Aug. 17, 1936 Oct. 25, 1939 Aug. 8, 1944 July 28, 1948 July 16, 1952 June 20, 1956	19th	1 4 5 4 4 4	Mar. 24, 1936 Oct. 7, 1936 Feb. 20, 1940 Feb. 7, 1945 Jan. 19, 1949 Nov. 12, 1952 Nov. 14, 1956	June 11, 1936 Sept. 23, 1939 June 29, 1944 June 9, 1948 May 28, 1952 Apr. 25, 1956

¹ The Ministries from 1935-57 were: 16th Ministry sworn in July 8, 1920 under the leadership of Hon. L. A. Taschereau; 17th Ministry sworn in June 11, 1936 under the leadership of Hon. A. Godbout; 18th Ministry sworn in Aug. 24, 1936 under the leadership of Hon. Maurice L. Duplessis; 19th Ministry sworn in Nov. 10, 1939 under the leadership of Hon. A. Godbout; 20th Ministry sworn in Aug. 30, 1944 under the leadership of Hon. Maurice L. Duplessis.

² Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1957.

Twentieth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 20, 1956: 72 Union Nationale, 20 Liberals, 1 Independent.)

Note.—See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and President of the Executive Council Minister of Finance. Minister of Lands and Forests and of Hydraulic Resources. Minister of Health. Minister of Health. Minister of Health. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Roads. Minister of Labour. Minister of Labour. Minister of Labour. Minister of Jublic Works. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Trade and Commerce. Provincial Secretary. Minister of Transportation and Communications and Solicitor General. Minister of Mines. Minister of Mines. Minister of Mines. Minister without Portfolic. Minister without Portfolic. Minister without Portfolic. Minister without Portfolic. Minister without Portfolic.	Hon. Patl Beatlieu Hon. Yves Prévost Hon. Antoine Rivard Hon. Patl Dozois Hon. W. M. Cottingham Hon. Arreur Leclere	Aug. 24, 1936 Aug. 24, 1936 Aug. 24, 1936 Aug. 30, 1944 Sept. 18, 1946 Aug. 30, 1944 Sept. 26, 1956 Dec. 15, 1948 Supt. 26, 1956 Dec. 15, 1948 Supt. 26, 1956 July 23, 1952 July 23, 1952 July 23, 1952	Aug. 30, 1944 Sept. 18, 1946 Aug. 30, 1944 Sept. 26, 1956 Apr. 12, 1950 Apr. 12, 1950 July 23, 1952 July 23, 1952 July 23, 1952 July 23, 1952